Thanks for the Memories

5eec3176e13962cadadca2444b541b57

In three days, I will be done with my end semester exams and will become a college graduate. And there are only two things that I shall be taking along with me from there:

  1. A document pronouncing me as a graduate
  2. Memories

The first one undoubtedly is important because it will help me in whichever career path I chose in the near future, but the latter is paramount.

It is this wealth of memories that I will carry with me for the rest of my life, and on dark, gloomy days of montony and amidst strangers in a foreign land, the wisps of days gone by will make me smile.

It is a difficult realization: my friends and I, after spending a few years together and aiding each other in the painful process of growing up, shall now part ways. Of course we shall promise to keep in touch, but promises slowly fade away.

Some of us will become famous, and we one fine day, we shall see them on the TV and with a start cry out, “Oh! I knew her!”, and stare at the screen, mentally comparing the gawky teenager we knew to the well-groomed celebrity on screen.

News of some will filter to us through other acquaintainces, and we shall delight or rue their truimphs and defeats vicariously. (In our hearts, we shall long for those days when we were the ones they confided all their news to first).

Some we shall meet, suddenly, in markets and at the bus stop.

“How have you been?”

“Good. Can’t complain, and you?”

“Just doing fine”.

At this point his bus arrives, and we both move on with our lives, and maybe later that night reminisce about the’good old days’.

Maybe right now I am being cynical but change is scary. And yet part we must for whatever next adventure life takes to.

There’s only one thing that can be said…Thanks for the memories!

 

4 thoughts on “Thanks for the Memories

  1. srithabandla says:

    ☆☆☆☆That is what I feel right now.. leaving my old frnds behind me n living in a new place… with strangers. . With people I have never seen… It is horrible… trust me I have gone thru that way.. now after one year I am here in bangalore .. very happy .. made some new frnds … though I can’t make frnds quickly .. others chose me and started talking with me.. I felt happy … even I feel that pang .. One moment which takes my breath away .. which tears my soul apart.. I shud have stayed back with my old frnds. .. but next second everything is fine.. my new frnds cheer me up.. take care of me…isn’t it cool. Yes it is ! Belive me everything is going to be fine. .☆☆☆☆

    ~sritha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and commenting. Frankly, you probably have no idea how reassuring your words are to me. I hope I too meet people as good as your friends in my life. Even I can’t make friends very quickly, and the ones I make, I never want to lose them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on graduating! It’s been a year since I did and yes, promises do fade away. But that’s okay. You’ll discover that some do stand the test of time! Go ahead and make more memories 😊 Wishing you the very best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

