A Harry Potter Birthday

I met Padfoot (my nickname for her. She calls me Prongs) in junior college. She was a commerce student and I was studying Humanities. We bonded over our mutual love for young-adult fiction. Four years from then, we are the best of friends. We chat incessantly for hours on the phone, discussing everything from our tangled love lives to the latest Game of Thrones episode. Whether the news is good or bad, she is always the first one I share it with. She chides me when I worry too much and cheers me up when I am low. I try to do the same for her.

Yesterday was her birthday. Now I have my exams coming up in a few weeks and I am also interning with an ad agency. Work and studies take up so much of my time that I have very little free time left. Yet I wanted to do something special for my friend’s birthday. Another common friend and I scoured the shops looking for gifts. We bought her a few goodies we thought she would like, including a LED book lamp.

But I still felt like something was missing. I wanted to do something more. Not a grand gesture, but a small one which showed how much I appreciated and cared for her; something that commemorates our friendship. So I went about creating goodies inspired from one of our favourite books Harry Potter. 

We made her a Chocolate Frog Card, a letter from Hogwarts, a ticket to the Hogwarts Express leaving from Platform 9 3/4, and a box of Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans. I will tell you how I went about it, just in case you want to make something similar for a special friend of yours.

The only thing you will need is a modicum of talent in Adobe Photoshop or a similar photo-editing software.
For the chocolate frog card, I took an empty template off Google (just Google Harry Potter chocolate frog card template) and opened it in Photoshop. I put my friend’s picture in another layer. Then on the first layer, using the magic wand tool (kind of apt in this context) I selected the empty space inside the card, and made it into a layer mask. Then I carefully positioned my friend’s image in that space.
For the platform ticket, I again took the image from Google and on top of the place where it said London I first erased the word using the clone stamp tool and then I wrote Mumbai on top of it.

image

This is the end result


Then I drafted a personalized letter from Minerva McGonagall, the Headmistress of Hogwarts, awarding an honory degree to my friend.
For the Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans, my friend and I purchased a cheap plastic container. We filled it with different types and flavors of sweets – gumdrops, mints and colourful chocolate balls. Then we put the chocolate frog card inside and decorated the container using coloured craft paper.
A tip in case you are using a plastic container like us – use tape instead of glue to attach the craft paper onto the box. Glue we learnt from trial soon ebbs away
image

Then giftwrapped the box and put the letter and ticket in an envelope. At the back of the envelope we put a picture of an owl with the words Delivered by Owl Post , and on the front we wrote her name and address.
The project took an entire day and by the end we were very tired. I hadn’t studied anything and I had work the next day. But the effort was well worth it, because Padfoot loved the gift. She got teary-eyed with happiness and her happiness was our reward. After all, what are good marks in front of a friend’s happiness. I am glad I spent as much time and effort on her gift as I did. She had been with me through thick and thin, and she is one of the best people I know. She deserved a gift that would make her feel as special as she is.

I am participating in the#DilKiDealOnSnapdeal activity atBlogAdda in association withSnapDeal.

Leave a Reply

