Your Perfect Date…in a Crate

So…you finally wooed the girl of your dreams and are prepping up for the first date with her. Everything has to go perfect…and this what has got you flummoxed. What variables do you need to get the equation just right?

Never fear, Mancrates.com has the perfect solution for you. They are an online shopping service that exclusively ships gifts for men in a wooden crate and add a crowbar to the package for fun (women take notice. There is nothing better [or cooler] that you can get for the special men in your life. Unfortunately, they do not ship internationally yet, but one can always hope ;))  A Date Crate — a crate with everything you need to sweep your date off her feet!

A few days ago, I learnt about Mancrates and their date crate project – a crate with 3-5 items that would be helpful to a man while preparing for a date. As Valentine’s Day rolls forward, here is a list of things that I think should be included in the crate:

  1. A Personal Hygiene Kit with Deodorant, Toothpaste, Shaving Cream and Razor, and Aftershave: First impressions matter. Don’t let anyone else tell you otherwise. Speaking from personal experience, I have a soft spot for guys who brush their teeth regularly. Apart from the fact that your teeth look mesmerizing when you smile, it also keeps your mouth from stinking. It is kind of a deal breaker if you are leaning in close, and all I can smell is your stinky garlic breath…or your sweaty underarms! Also, try not to belch or fart during the date.  You would think it would be common sense, but you would be shocked to know how often it happens. Personal hygiene is very important. When I discussed this post with my best friend, the first thing she suggested was “have a bath!”
  2. A White Shirt: If a little black dress is a must-have for girls, then few boys can go amiss with a white shirt…especially if paired with black or blue denims looks stunningly debonair on most guys.

    taken from Google

    taken from Google

  3. A Select Range of Chick-Lit Novels and Movies: The best way to get understand the female mind is to read a few chick-lit novels, especially ones written from a woman’s point of view. Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Can You Keep A Secret? and Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott are few of the books I would recommend. If you are not into books, maybe you can try watching some of these films instead — Runaway Bride, Princess Diaries: Royal Engagement, Monster-in-Law, Valentine’s Day, 50 First Dates, Letters to Juliet and You Have Got Mail. Chick Flicks and chick-lit are the best insights into a woman’s mind that you will ever receive. download (4)
  4. A Book of Romantic Poems and Sonnets: Maybe it is just for literature buffs like me, but I absolutely love romantic poetry and sonnets. Be it Robert Browning
Only I discern—
         Infinite passion, and the pain
Of finite hearts that yearn.
Or E.E. Cummings:
I carry your heart with me. I carry it in my heart. I am never without it. Anywhere I go, you go, my dear. And whatever is done by only me…is your doing. I fear no fate…for you are my fate, I want no world cause you are my world.
Or the ever-famous lines from Elizabeth Barrett Browning:
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life; and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.
If your date is a girl who loves literature or even only if you want to make your compliments stand apart from the hundreds she has heard before, a book of poetry is a good investment.
5. A Recipe Book for Cooking A Simple Home Cooked Meal: They say the way to a woman’s heart passes through her stomach. A simple, home cooked meal (or even simply one dish) will win the heart of any woman. She will truly appreciate the effort and the gesture.
romantic_dinner
What else do you think would be helpful before a date? (Suggestions for girls are welcome too; I being one 😛 )
[For more tips, you can also check out one of my earlier posts — What Girls Want]
Leave a Reply

