Laundry Wars: Gender Inequality After-Hours

It has been a long and tiring day at office. Anil and Priya meet in the lobby and climb the stairs to their apartment on the first floor together.

Turning the key Anil asks, “What’s for dinner? I am starving. Skipped lunch to finish a report“.

Let’s order” Priya said dropping her handbag on the couch and passing a weary hand over her eyes. “I am too tired“.

Anil flopped down on the sofa and picked up the TV remote, “Ok. But don’t forget to wash my blue shirt before you go to bed. I have a client meeting tomorrow“.

I am really tired” Priya said. “Do I have to do it tonight?

Yes” Anil flipped channels languidly yawning. “I need it tomorrow”.

You know what – why don’t you do it Yourself!“Priya said.

Anil turned to gape open-mouthed at her, “What happened? Why are you angry?

“I am not angry, just tired. I don’t want to do the laundry tonight. Why don’t you do it for a change?

But – but I don’t know how to!” Anil said.

You have never done it before?

No! My mother used to do it!

And when she was unwell…or couldn’t because she was too tired?” Priya’s nostrils flared.

Then my grandmother did it. Or my aunt“. Anil got off the sofa and laid a placating hand on his wife’s arm. “Why are you being like this? I am sorry if I said something to upset you. I need that shirt tomorrow, so be a dear and please wash it. You know doing the laundry is the woman’s duty in a household“.

Duty?!” Priya shook off his hand and glared at him. She tossed her hair behind her back. “Well now that’s just sad because I am going on a strike! I am not washing your dirty laundry anymore!” Anil stared at her bemused as she stalked off to their bedroom. The door closed with a loud bang.

Arial

Debates in intellectual circles revolve a lot around the equal treatment of both men and women, on the necessity of giving them both equal salaries and responsibilities at the workplace. But the debate is rarely carried forward to the household. How can we dream of equality when everyday after returning home from work the husband gets to relax following his hectic day of work, while the wife is left washing the dirty laundry.

Some revolting statistics  discovered by Ariel’s survey conducted by AC Nielsen:

In a nutshell this it what it means:

You are allowed to leave the household and work at par with men*

*Terms and Conditions Applied. You must be extremely proficient in multi-tasking. No matter how strenuous your career is, you are still expected to do the household chores. Being an independent career woman does not free you from your traditional chores, but adds on to them.

This blog post is a cry to spread gender equality not only in the workplace, but also at home. It can start with something as simple as doing the laundry. 

I am writing for #IsLaundryOnlyAWomansJob activity at BlogAdda.com in association with Ariel.

Leave a Reply

