Quote

A No-Brainer

Let’s assume we do, in fact, use only 10% of our brain. If you could unlock the remaining 90%, what would you do with it?

This has to be the easiest prompt I have done till date. The minute I read the sentence the answer popped into my head — WRITE!!! 

I hereby declare that any additional brain power I am ever blessed with will be used primarily for writing. 

Writing is the purest form of expression according to me, and many times I find my vocabulary inadequate to express what I want to say. I know what it is that I want to write but I don’t know how to find the words that will capture it’s essence perfectly.

When I write a birthday message for a friend there is so much that I want to say — so many memories, so much gratitude and loads of love. Words seem paltry to capture all that they mean to me.

I face a similar conundrum when writing a story. How best to translate real-world sensory experiences onto paper? To preserve the fragrance of a jasmine, the coolness of water and the texture of grass using only words. So I guess if I had 90% more brain power to utilize I would spend much of it mulling over this problem.

Though writing shall be my main focus I will also try to utilize a little bit of my new-found intelligence to boost my self-esteem, to not allow jealous criticism and taunts translate into self-doubt.

Who knows, I may just finally find within myself the determination to finally pen down the novel I keep planning to write? 😛

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Brain Power.”

8 thoughts on “A No-Brainer

  1. I could relate so much to this: “Writing is the purest form of expression according to me, and many times I find my vocabulary inadequate to express what I want to say. I know what it is that I want to write but I don’t know how to find the words that will capture it’s essence perfectly.”

    Now that I am retired and my children are grown and I have time to write, my brain no longer performs adequately and many words are now beyond my grasp. Because of this I feel like all my writing is so “below average,” but I write anyway. A little here and a little there hoping the words will find their way back to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

