Sunset at the Beach

The call was unexpected to say the least – “Hey, wanna go over to Juhu beach?”

“Why” I asked.

“Just”, she said. “I want to click the sunset”.

It was summer vacations, and I did not really have anything better to do. A trip to the beach with my camera and best friend sounded pretty awesome. I agreed. We went and clicked away to glory…much to the bemusement of the passer-bys. A group of boys actually asked me if we were from some magazine, doing a photo shoot. I don’t think they believed me when I told them we were doing this just for fun, and because we liked photography.

The pictures lay in some elusive niche of my computer hard disk till today, when I saw the Photography 101 assignment for the day:Ā Water.

DSCN1431

Lovers on the Beach

Lovers on the Beach

Into the Sunset Together

Into the Sunset Together

The activity on the beach only increased as dusk approached

The activity on the beach only increased as dusk approached

I tried out a different technique that day. Shooting a picture through a pair of sunglasses – better than any filters you can apply!

DSCN1471

This is the actual colour

This is the actual colour

DSCN1487

And….sunset!

10 thoughts on “Sunset at the Beach

  1. Beautiful shots. I like the first one best as it seems so clear. Did you use live view to take the photos? I damaged one of my eyes taking sunset photos through a lens. i guess I didn’t realise the sun was still dangerous even when orange. It is OK though as my other eye compensates quit well. Sorry, but I feel the need to warn everyone about this!

    Like

    • Thanks for the warning, and thank you for commenting.
      Back then I had a normal point and shoot camera, but recently I did shoot a sunset using lens, and completely agree with you. I actually even made the mistake of zooming in into the sun. I was seeing black spots for the next ten minutes, and the entire exercise was very strenuous on my eyes.

      Like

  2. Absolutely gorgeous – the sunglasses filter is a very clever idea; one which works extremely well too by the looks of it! I once stuck my camera lens right up on a telescope and got a pretty good shot of the moon – unexpected methods sometimes yield amazing results. šŸ˜›

    Like

  3. srithabandla says:

    you’re post is wonderful.. not in vanity , but in reality that you had put together everything so beautifully and i want to tell you that ,i am something like you, aspiring to make all my dreams true but most of them won’t! and you’re blog title makes me feel very emotional……… you’re understanding of life is something to be lauded for !

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words.
      I am really glad that you liked it. But I do want to request you that you should keep hope in your dreams. I love dreaming. Even if they don’t come true, I will always have the pleasure of the ‘dreaming’, and something dreamed is half way to reality. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

