Just Be – the Conundrum of a First-Year College Student

The four years of my high school I spent in studying as hard as I could….so that four years down the line I could get into my dream college, and I did. I topped my class, passed out with flying colours and a lot of accolades, and before I knew it, I was standing at the gates of the college I had always wanted to get in, doing the course I wanted.

I should have been happy — but instead I felt lost. Where do I go from here? I wasn’t the only one. A few of my friends reported feeling similar symptoms of lethargy. We had lost the drive, the one goal that had been guiding our life till now. I lost interest in studies. Everything felt worthless. I tried planning for my career after college, but the road beyond the three years of college seemed so dark and gloomy, so full of unexpected twists and unknown obstacles, that thinking about it gave me goosebumps and panic attacks. I was almost in the midst of an existential crisis. I had spent most of my teenage life driving at breakneck speed towards this destination, and now that I was here, I had no idea where to go now.

It struck me quite suddenly, randomly out of the blue, but one day I just shook myself:

What are you so melancholic about? This is where you wanted to be for the last four years. You worked hard to reach here, and now that you are here, you are thinking of what to do when you leave?! 

Idiot! (Being me, I am allowed to call myself names 😛 ) Enjoy these three years to the fullest. Revel in the glory that is today. The rest will sort itself out, as and when it happens. Don’t think about that. 

Just BE!

11 thoughts on “Just Be – the Conundrum of a First-Year College Student

    • Thanks for reading. It is a nice philosophy to follow in life, just being, going with the flow and not freaking out over small stuff.
      However if everyone started doing that I guess there might never be any progress 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  1. alanjryland says:

    I’m 23 years old and due to depression and similar existential issues (haha), I still haven’t finished. I have my heart set on heading back this January to kick off the spring session and I don’t want to cut it short anymore. I did know what I wanted to do, but it was tough to get myself in gear, probably because I didn’t receive the help I should have in high school to assist me with making the transition (my college counselor was a dim wit and the expectation that I MUST have it all figured out by now was just absurd).

    I’ve spent the last few years working and building up my resume, which has helped, certainly, so it hasn’t been a waste.

    Like

  2. Nothing is ever a waste. I read a quote somewhere about how anything that made you smile is never a waste of time. High school is tough. It screws everyone up. The only thing that kept me sane through my years of high school was the determination to get into the college I wanted. Truthfully I had awful classmates in high school and was bullied a lot. I used to cry and was mildly depressed. It was only the dream of getting into a good college with better peers that helped me get through – ergo, later it was such a big crisis for me when I had no more goal.
    College is fun. Maybe you can enroll for some extra-curricular activities or clubs. College is great when you have good company around you. It is a place where you can explore new possibilities; discover talents you never knew you had; and hone the ones you already had. I hope you not only finish the entire term this year but also have great fun doing it.

    Like

  3. Franz says:

    Awesome post, I’ve been there and I know others have. It seems like more and more students are stressing out. When really if they “just be”, they could be the person they were meant to be so when pressure comes they’ll be able to handle it without hurting themselves in the process.

    Like

    • Thank you for reading.
      I agree wholeheartedly with you. Stress levels in people of all ages are sky-rocketing, especially among students. The bogey of the competitive world and the pressure to succeed creates such a terrifying future that we often forget to enjoy our present. We are busy planning our future while the present just slips away.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

