How To Break Someone’s Heart

The interiors of the coffee shop was warm and comfy. The conversations from the other tables – of teenage friends, business men…and lovers – created a happy drone of voices around us. The coffee in front of me is cold, like my heart. A numbness is spreading across me. You are looking outside the window. Maybe you already know the words I am choking on. getty_rm_photo_of_peeling_bandage A mad impulse seizes me – a desire to get this over with, for once and all. Like tearing a band-aid. You start off slow and then you peel it all off, in one hasty move, revealing the pink throbbing wound underneath.

I can’t do this anymore” I blurt out.

I think I see you wince slightly. Your shoulders hunch.

My eyes sting, but I can’t take my words back. I don’t want to.

I squeeze my eyes tightly. No tears.

I am sorry” I whisper.

It seems inadequate. I should probably say more. But I don’t know what, and so I remain silent.

The silence stretches on…

Finally, you look at me. A laconic smile plays on your lips – bitter but resigned. “I am too”.

The pain in your eyes stabs me like an ice-cold blade. I want to not care, and yet I do.

I know this was wrong. It was never going to work out. We were too different – you and I. Too headstrong. But it hurts all the same. There is a terrible, terrible blackness inside me.  A hole where you used to be, till I ripped you apart.

The repressed tears sting my eyes.

I get up and leave.

I don’t look back. c7a48f192556947849ad36feb5e7c85d

Standing outside in the cool, fresh air, I realize I am relived. It feels like for these past few weeks I had been carrying a burden around with me, and now I have finally dropped it. I feel lightheaded, and that’s when I realize that as much as this hurts, I am happy.

I hate the fact that I hurt you though. Despite all that passed I still care about you…a little too much. I berate myself for not being more tactful; more kind? Maybe I should have waited a little longer, tried a little harder – maybe I could have taught myself to love you, as much as you loved me.

Yet if you are going to break someone’s heart, is there a ‘good’ way to do it? Now or later, this way or that, it was going to be painful. Maybe this was better, to get it over quickly. I don’t know. I guess I never will.

I walk away from the cafe.

I hope you have a good life, away from me. I hope you are happy. 

Today’s Daily Prompt: Handle With Care

12 thoughts on “How To Break Someone’s Heart

  1. Loved it! “Laconic” (NICE!) One thing–just watch your tense. Most of the selection is in present voice/tense, except for a few lines…for instance: I felt lightheaded. Otherwise, this was stellar! (I looked for your post in the Commons, because I figured you’d prefer feedback there rather than here, but I couldn’t find you.)

    Like

    • Thanks for reading and double thanks for your feedback. You are right. I will DEFINITELY try keeping the tenses in check from now on.
      I haven’t posted anything on the Commons. I am not really sure on how to use that actually. I am still trying on training wheels when it comes to blogging, so to speak. I have loads to learn and much to improve. Your feedback is thus very helpful, and I am extremely grateful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the expressions. I agree on the tenses, but other than that this piece was wonderful. Perfectly true on how there is no “good” way to break a heart. It will always hurt. Quicker, the better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

