12th June 2014: The First Shower

I am at my desk, poring over the reading material for tomorrow’s class, when a loud shout of glee breaks my concentration.

I hear a steady pitter-patter….could it really be?!….I run to the adjoining balcony. Yes, it is raining!

My shriek of elation adds to the cacophony of the gleeful cries and whoops of joy of the neighbourhood kids, who have run out to get wet in the first showers of the year.

I stretch my hands out, as far as they go and try to catch as many of the delightfully wet raindrops as I can. They slither down my palm, leaving a delightfully cool sensation behind.

Now comes the strong gusts of Wind – someone must have told it that the raindrops are here, and the wild monsoon party, can finally begin!!

The rich aroma of damp earth and wet grass overwhelms my senses, and I breathe it in — revel in it.

After days of blistering heat, the cool monsoon is a refreshing change. Like the sympathetic smile of a close friend after a careworn day, the sight of the pouring clouds fill me with joy and make me forget all my worries; like the soothing sensation of a mother’s touch, when you are down with fever, the feel of the raindrops on my palm soothe me; like the melody of a lover’s laugh, the soft sound of the falling rain and the passionate cries of the wind fill me with contended jubilation.

Nature rejoices with me. The cypress trees dance with wild abandon in the wind, the glistening leaves play to the tune of the rain drops and the children dance with joy.

I know, soon, within a few weeks probably, there will come a day, when I will be tired of the monsoon, and the mud, and the damp humidity, and long for the sunrays. But that day is not today – today I will lean out of the window, close my eyes, and welcome the monsoon.

…..the notes lie untouched on my desk.

3 thoughts on “12th June 2014: The First Shower

Leave a Reply

