Holding On

This story is in response to the Flash! Friday Prompt by Rebekah Postupak. Partly written from personal experience.

Image

I walk into the garden, tears running down my cheeks. We fought again today – he and I. The wetness on my cheek reminds me of our first date. I had sobbed with joy when he first kissed me. I loved him so much. Where had all that love gone? All I feel now is an empty hollow ache that demands what once was mine.

I am scared of being without him and tired of being with him.

I turn the corner and come face-to-face with ‘The Earth Goddess’ exhibit. I watch her serene face with its closed eyes, and hear the ripple of water flowing from her outstretched palm. What would happen if she clenched her fist and refused to let go – it would flow away anyway. And all that would remain is the soft memory of silken caresses, the whisper of a gurgling laugh… and cool moistness in the light summer breeze.

If you love somebody, let them go, for if they return, they were always yours. If they don’t, they never were.

– Khalil Gibran

 

Leave a Reply

