Don’t Ask Me…

Today’s Daily Prompt: A Pulitzer-winning reporter is writing an in-depth piece – about you. What are the three questions you really hope she doesn’t ask you?

The tea is steaming in the cups, the notebook is open, and his pen is poised in the air, ready to take down my answers – and all I can do is pray that he doesn’t ask me these questions:

  1. What are your favourite books? – Don’t ask me about that. You will be forced to write a book entirely on that one topic!
  2. When was your first date? – Answer, haven’t had it yet. Yes, that’s true. I am a 19-year old who has never been on a date, and no, its not because my parents are too strict, or I am not interested. Next question please!
  3. How do you find inspiration for your works? – I have been asked this question before, and seriously, I don’t know! I don’t have a secret book where ideas magically appear. I just decide to write about it. In school, classmates would ask me, how I wrote an essay that the teacher praised, and when I told them I don’t know, they would give me angry glares, like I was hiding my secret from them. I really don’t want any more of those looks.

That’s it. Else I am an open book – ask away!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Ask Me…

Leave a Reply

