An Unpaid Bill and The Pink Envelope

Letter boxes, Area 51. Public domain photo by MartinStr.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass
the world is too full to talk about.

Rumi

Grumbling I drove up to Steve Medlin’s farm, 15 km away from town. At the post-office we had a joke – a postman goes everywhere the Sun does. This was the 3rd time I was coming here in the fortnight – the credit card company had been sending desperate reminders, and I was getting a little angry at this man for not paying his bills already.

The last envelope was still lying untouched, and the one before. Curiously I opened it and saw the list of billed items:

  1. Gold Eternity Ring – Diamnte Wedding-Jewellers
  2. 3-tier cake – Creme Patisserie
  3. 2 Business-Class Tickets to Paris – Air France

I picked up the pink envelope that had been lying here from day-one. Somehow I didn’t think I would be sued.

Dearest Robert,

Forgive me but I can’t go through with the wedding. I don’t think I love you. I don’t think I ever did. Ken wants to get back together. I wish you all the best in life.

Mary

(This post is in reply to the Flash! Friday Challenge by Rebekkah Postupak).

Leave a Reply

